GPS, go home–you’re drunk!

Standard

I’ve been trying to decide what GPS iPhone app is best to use while I am running. So far I’ve used Map My Run and Runkeeper. After using both, I was leaning towards using Runkeeper full-time until it mapped my run like this:

20140525-174403.jpg

There are a few things wrong with this picture. First of all, I do not run a 07:46 mile. I run faster.

Bwahahahaha.

No, but really, I don’t run a 07:46 mile. I WISH I did, but no. Not even close. Only in my dreams.

Secondly, I do not run in a zigzag pattern as the GPS apparently recorded on my run. Running for me is difficult enough without following such an erratic pattern.  The noted route looks more like a trail a zombie off The Walking Dead would make when chasing a rabid squirrel.  Even then, said zombie probably wouldn’t be doing a 07:46 mile.

Lastly, I did not run 6.58 miles.  It was probably closer to 4.5.  Missed it by that much.

The only thing that was remotely correct was the time.

I’m not sure what exactly happened to Runkeeper.  Was it cloudy and therefore the GPS wasn’t functioning correctly?  Is it because I live in the boondocks and the GPS can’t pinpoint my exact location?  Or had the GPS been partying with friends before I called it into service?  Whatever the reason, it failed me in my time of need.

I’ve decided I’m going to give Runkeeper another chance.  We all make mistakes, so Runkeeper deserves the opportunity to atone for its sins.  And to be honest, I kind of like the fact that it shows that I run a 07:46 mile.  No one needs be the wiser, right?

What do you use to track your runs?  Phone app?  Garmin?

Leave a Reply

