Phyllis Diller is my fitness instructor?!

Standard

A couple of times a week I go to the YMCA for a strength training class.  I live in Small Town, USA, so the nearest YMCA is 21 miles away.  Yes, it’s quite a drive, albeit mostly freeway driving, but I NEED the accountability of a group fitness class (no quitting after the first five minutes, no phone calls interrupting the workout, no children asking what’s for dinner, no cats declaring their undying love for me by rubbing against my legs while I’m trying to lift weights), so the drive is a sacrifice I’m willing to make.

I really like the instructor for this class.  That is not always the case.  Last year I took a strength training class at a recreation center a little closer to home.  I didn’t finish the eight-week course because:

1.  The class was from 5:30-6:30 a.m.  No, that is not a typo.  It was a.m.–as in way too early to be up and moving.  I am not a morning person, so I should have known better before I signed up for such medieval torture.

morning person coffee beans

2.  The instructor must have been a relative of Hitler. She was a sadist who enjoyed inflicting pain on me in all sorts of ways that I had never imagined. Now I realize that her job is to reinforce that old adage, “No Pain, No Gain,” but she wasn’t even the least bit friendly doing it.  She had her front row posse that she conversed with but apparently the rest of us were invisible.  No bueno.

personal trainer

Now this YMCA instructor is the opposite.    She makes everyone feel welcome and is very helpful in making sure that you use the correct form and also gives us frequent reminders to KEEP BREATHING so we (meaning ME) don’t end up passed out prone on the floor.  Front row, back row, it doesn’t matter–she is there to encourage and keep you going.  Not only that, but she is gosh durn fun-nay!  (To translate–that is funny in Caffeinated Ginger-speak.)  She always has a hilarious story that keeps us laughing and almost makes us forget that our legs are turning to grape jelly as we are lunging our legs off.

A few weeks ago, I finally realized who she reminded me of—Phyllis Diller!  Here’s a picture of Phyllis Diller for all of you younguns who don’t know this great comedienne:

phyllis diller

 

Okay–so my beloved instructor doesn’t have the hair, however awesome it may be, but she has the voice, the humor and that LAUGH!  It’s Fantabulous!  I mean, seriously, how could you not like sweating your buns off with Phyllis Diller motivating you?!

So what or who motivates YOUR fitness routine?  Phyllis Diller?  Great music?  The promise of chocolate after your workout?

Leave a Reply

