The Elusive Chair

Standard

In June the hubster and I went to Kansas City for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary.  While in Kansas City, we went to Nebraska Furniture Mart to purchase new furniture for our family room.  We were able to bring home all of the furniture with us that weekend except for the one chair which was the piece that I fell in love with and the reason for which I chose the furniture set.

June 2014 Kaw Lake and KC Trip 018

I love that chair and ottoman.  A lot.  I fantasize about that chair.  No, not in that way–more in the way of dreaming about sitting in it while reading a book and drinking a mug of hot tea with Bruno.

We were originally promised that the chair would be delivered a few days after our purchase.  Then they called and said that was a mistake.  The chair would be delivered two weeks later, which happened to be today. They were to deliver the chair between 9 and 11 a.m. and someone 18 years or older would have to sign for it.

So after waiting over two weeks for my beloved chair, I made sure to get up extra early this morning to get my hour-long bike ride in before 9 a.m. rolled around.  I didn’t even bother to take a shower when I got home as I was afraid that I would be wet and unclothed when the delivery men arrived.  Awkward.

I waited. And waited. And waited.  Eleven a.m. came and went.  No chair.

At 11:10 a.m., the delivery man called and said they were in a neighboring city and would be at our house shortly after they made a delivery in the city.

11:45 a.m.  No Chair

12 noon  No Chair

12:15 p.m. No chair

12:30 p.m. No chair

12:45 p.m.  Repeat

I am beginning to get concerned because I have a hair appointment (which takes utmost importance, of course) at 1 p.m.  That means that only my under-18-years-old daughter will be home to sign for the chair and apparently that is against the written rules of furniture delivery.

I called the hubster to express my concern and displeasure.  He and I both agreed to have daughter go ahead and sign for the chair.  If the delivery people had a problem with it, then she was to go next door to ask our neighbor to sign for the chair.

No sooner did I make the 12-minute drive to the hair salon then I get a call from the hubster saying that our daughter called him because they delivered the wrong chair.

Instead of delivering my cute chair that matches the ottoman that is patiently waiting for its mate in my basement, they delivered this chair:

adiron chair

 

Ummm…that is not going to match my ottoman.

Nebraska Furniture Mart received a quick call from the hubster as he knows how I’ve been pining for my chair.  The new and improved plan is that they will deliver my chair next week and pick up the Adirondack chair that has now taken up residence in my front entryway in a box. If you ring my doorbell, don’t think us rude if we don’t come to the front door–we can’t get to it now.

My beloved has offered to let me sit in his new recliner until my chair arrives.  The sacrifices that man makes for me.

I  had to go to Sonic and buy the daughter a vanilla Dr. Pepper because apparently posing as an 18-year-old was very stressful to her delicate psyche.

Do you ever feel like some things just aren’t meant to be?  I’m not sure I’ll ever see my chair.  I guess I could learn to live without it, but I’m not sure my ottoman can.

 

 

4 responses »

  1. I think since they made the mistake you should get to keep the Adirondack chair…it would look great in your back yard!

    Like

Leave a Reply

