When Breakfast Rebels

Standard

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I love all kinds of breakfast foods–pancakes, waffles, French toast, eggs, bacon, donuts…the list goes on and on.

Not only do I love breakfast, I need it.  We usually eat supper around 6:30 or 7 p.m., then I workout by running or riding my bike for an hour around 8 p.m., so by morning I am hungry.  I even tend to get a bit hangry.

Hangry-300x298

One morning last week I went to the kitchen and decided on a simple breakfast of Crunchy Raisin Bran. I didn’t have a lot of time to fix breakfast because I had to take Dear Daughter #2 to the dentist. I poured a bowl of cereal and opened the refrigerator to get the milk. As I opened the door, with a sinking feeling I realized there was no milk. No milk = a really sad bowl of cereal.

cereal edit

Plan B was then put into action.

What’s the next best quick breakfast choice that didn’t require milk?  The good ol’ standby–toast!

But then this happened….

015The toaster seemed to be having some anger issues, too.  No amount of scraping with a butter knife could save this piece of toast.

Sigh.

I decided I’d better play it safe and go with the pre-wrapped, pre-assembled granola bar.

016Did the granola bar rid me of my hanger pains?  Yes.  But was it really satisfying?  No.

Note to self:  Set alarm to make sure there’s time to make homemade waffles tomorrow. Oh!  And buy milk.

pooh quote about breakfast

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

